View Single Post

Old 09-17-2010, 02:31 PM
US Veteran

Liked 338 Times in 114 Posts
Default m1895 Nagant shooting .32 S&W longs?

This is off-topic being about M1895 Nagants, but since I am questioning the use of SMITH & WESSON .32 caliber Long's I thought I would post it on the forum

I am new to Nagant's, in fact I just ordered two from SOG and will pick the best one and sell the other.
I hear alot about 32 ACP cylinders, but I thought i have also heard of people shooting some types of S&W ammo through them with the factory cylinder.

Is that dangerous? What types and calibers are they using?
I did a little googling and here is what I came up with, it seems to be fairly well split between the never use anything other than 7.62 and the S&W and H&R are fine

Q: I have been told that Smith & Wesson .32 Long cartridges can be safely fired in the Russian Nagant 7.62 Military revolver. Is this true?
A: The .023" difference in head diameter between the .32 S&W Long's .335" and the Nagant's .358" is enough to nix the idea even at the lowly pressure of the .32 Long. Ruptured handgun brass is always a bad thing. The correct case to create 7.62 Nagant amino is the .32-20, although the case won't be long enough to form the gas seal. If the high cost, limited availability and hassle of the 7.62 Nagant round vexes you, get an extra .32 ACP cylinder for it. They are available from Century Int. Arms, (561) 998-1997, Century International Arms, Inc. for $59.95 and will provide plenty of safe, cheap fun.
COPYRIGHT 2005 Publishers' Development Corporation
COPYRIGHT 2005 Gale Group
from the wikipedia