View Single Post

Old 12-04-2010, 12:45 PM

Liked 46 Times in 21 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by nightshade2x View Post
I have a few loads I use that are similar with varying results. Keep in mind these loads are only shot in .357 frame guns. I don't crono, just go by feel and accuracy.

*I load a 148 hard cast DEWC with 4.9 Gr. current Unique, CCI 500 primer and seat to the top of the crimp groove with a mid taper crimp. This has been a total "powder puff" load, very accurate and virtually no recoil, tiny bit of leading. Very cheap to load. My favorite plinking load now.
I take no liability for these loads...milage may vary.

Have fun and be safe.
Nightshade2x
This is very interesting information on your 148 DEWC Hard Cast Load in 38 special cases.

I am working with some loads using Unique and 38 special cases using the DEWC lead bullets. This is one I just finished this week. I haven't loaded for some time now and this is my first time back at the reloading bench, in a while. So, take it for what you will.

The 148 grain DEWC seats very low in the case. The lower the bullet is seated the more the pressure rises. I was very concerned with pressure when I loaded my 148 DEWC (not hard cast). I settled on 3.5 grains of unique with CCI SP Primers in 38 special cases. This worked very well for me. This is a little hotter than what is advised by some who really know much more than me. The general consensus is to drop this load to about 3.1 Grains of Unique. I may try this next time I load the 148 DEWC in 38 special cases. I shoot the 3.5 Unique loads in a loads in a 4" revolver.

I got some good advice about the DEWC Lead Bullets...Don't shoot them in a rifle. Bad things can happen. I have not tried this and will take others word for it.

Below is from another forum I posted.
Pictures and information of my results.
I am no expert and this is just my experience.

Thanks everyone for all your help.