View Single Post

Old 03-03-2011, 02:15 PM
Absent Comrade

Liked 13,195 Times in 2,860 Posts

I won't try and second guess those gents who have seen the elephant with the 4516. I have had several years of experience with S&W 3rd gen 45's with barrel lengths under 4", so I will share some of my thoughts on the S&W "shorty" 45's.

Fortunately, the two times I've "been there" - I've not had to "done that". Both times were with a sixgun anyway.

Like Leiden, I've qualified with and carried the 4516-3 on/off duty. As many of you who have read about my experiences with the 4516 will know - probably ad nauseum - my 4516-3 is the only 3rd generation pistol I've had to malfunction.

The first malfunction - a few years back, was a mechanical parts failure. The MIM mag catch snapped during an IDPA match. The 4516 WAS STILL FUNCTIONAL and could be fired using the old "teacup" hold. I finished the stage with it, and switched to my 4513TSW back-up.

I replaced that MIM mag catch with a forged steel 4566 mag catch. Despite the rantings of the MIM defenders I see MIM as the cost cutting/profit generating/cheap pot metal junk that it is. Ever notice even the most vociferous MIM defenders always say; "MIM is <insert your favorite percentage>% as strong as forged parts!" Notice that they never claim MIM is "100% as strong as forged parts". I noticed that too.

At the last qualification I requalified with the 4516-3 for on/off duty again. During the day/off duty portion, while firing Winchester Ranger 230 grain RA45T, I started to experience a failure to feed on the sixth round in the mag. TAP RACK back in the game. Troubled me though as I had never had a malfunction before.

The 4516-3 wasn't very dirty, was properly lubed, and had less than 1000 rounds on the dual recoil spring. I figured it was a mag problem. A quick run through the SRT "playground" confirmed it. One mag had a spring weak enough that the slide was out running the mag - at the sixth round up.