View Single Post

Old 04-06-2011, 12:51 AM

Liked 5,242 Times in 2,483 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by alfonzo
I am not an expert on the model 41, but I believe the model 46 and model 41 the barrels will interchange.
Not all 41 and 46 barrels can be used on the other frame. I've read threads that go into detail and you probalbly can find one of them.

Quote:
As for the light weight field barrel made from a 7 inch barrel that did not past muster in the accuracy test, has this ever been confirmed?
This is the first time I've heard Field barrels were made from reject 7 3/8" barrels, however, in their earilier years Field barrels were cut down 7 3/8" barrels. The hole for the barrel weight was plugged two different ways which I've seen lead to arguments over whose Field barrel is original. Member Civil1977 generously e-mailed me an article on 41s and 46s from the 1991 Journal of the Smith & Wesson Collectors association which coves this. I can pass it on to you if you like.

Quote:
Also there were several variations in the 5 inch field barrel. With a ramped front sight, red ramp front sight, and target type front sight, unramped.

Also, my model 41 has a light weight field barrel which I purchased several years ago.

The rear sight has two white dots, which I have heard is a rather rare variation in itself.

al