View Single Post

Old 07-20-2011, 01:49 PM
Administrator

Liked 3,973 Times in 600 Posts
Default My "New" Western Arms Corp Hawken Rifle

I recently purchased this firearm. I was sort of looking for a utilitarian black powder rifle to give me an extra week at the beginning of deer season. Smith357 talked me into this one.

It is marked "Western Arms Corp Santa Fe, N.M." "Jedediah Smith, 1799-1831". "xxx of 1000" on the tang. It appears to be in excellent condition with minor storage dings. I'm not sure if it has been fired, it doesn't show any signs of it to me, but I am far from an expert.

Pictures by Smith357:

Through a little internet research I was able to find out that these were imported in the mid '70s starting in 1975.

I found the following on a several year old thread from another forum. I don't know if it is true or not, but it makes a good story:

Pedersoli Rocky Mountain Hawken Rifle - Topic