View Single Post

Old 10-25-2011, 07:50 AM
SWCA Member

Liked 485 Times in 71 Posts
Default Clarifications on some statements made above

I'd like to respectfully offer clarifications to statements made by several earlier participants in this thread. I am not a lawyer and nothing here should be construed as legal advice. But, I believe that I can document everything that I say below.

There are two ways that a firearm can become, by federal legal definition, a "curio or relic" (or "C&R eligible"): (1) Once 50 years have passed since a particular gun was manufactured, that gun automatically becomes C&R eligible, as long as it is in its "original configuration." (Note: Major changes, such as "sporterizing" a military rifle, resets the 50-year clock.) (2) Specific models or specific individual firearms can be designated by ATF as C&R, even if they are not 50 years old; those so designated are placed on the published list, which is periodically updated. There is a process for petitioning ATF to place a particular model or a specific firearm on the list. (By the way, while there are many engraved commemorative guns on the list, a gun is not C&R eligible merely because it is engraved!) The firearms that are commonplace but more than 50 years old are just as much "curios or relics" as those that appear on the special ATF list.