Thread: First gun
View Single Post

Old 12-28-2012, 04:48 AM

Liked 56 Times in 44 Posts
Smile

matt:

I'm basically a 1911 guy. My EDC is one of two Officer's-sized .45's.... But around the house (largely because a special belt or high-end holster isn't necessary), an M&P40C is my choice....

(I've been carrying for more than 40 years. Probably everything known to man .... The slightly smaller than full-size 1911's, although with a low round count, are easy to shoot, and will do the BG a very bad turn if I do my job. These two are very reliable, too, and I don't mind the weight. I do wear a special belt, and a good holster.)

One rule is to avoid the "gun of the month club".... Everything you're going to carry should work exactly the same - safety goes "down" to fire, for example - or not have that feature at all. It's far easier to miss a feature that's not there than to try to figure out which way the safety lever goes. (My M&P hasn't got any external controls except for the slide stop.) You can sometimes get into something like my PPK/S where just leaving the safety lever off is adequate, but bear in mind that it's "backwards", should it find itself "on"....

Weight, for a carry gun, isn't much of a problem for a big guy (6' 1", about 350#), but YMMV.... The major problem with the lightweights is that they aren't much fun to shoot with anything remotely resembling full-power loads, but that's also a YMMV thing....

In my case, an M&P40FS or M&P40C isn't more than a little worse than my smaller 1911's, and a 9C is just plain fun (as would be a 9FS). I'm a little hesitant about a Shield 40, but probably could deal with it. I had to get rid of a PPS40 because the trigger was such that my pudgy finger would wrap around it and get pinched badly. Meantime, the very narrow backstrap hurt, too, but I could have dealt with that. (The PPS9 should be fine.)

SO....