View Single Post

Old 03-04-2013, 12:17 PM
Absent Comrade

Liked 13,198 Times in 2,860 Posts

I'm no expert, but I have extensive experience with the 4516's, so I'll try to help.

The no dash 4516 had a stepped frame, dual recoil springs, thinner slide with a rib along the top and flash chromed hammer and trigger. It is the lightest in weight of the 4516's. The Smith & Wesson rollmarks were twards the muzzle with the "four line" aft of it on the slide.

There reportedly were slide inertia problems resulting in feeding problems and also magazine issues. The original follower IIRC was problematic.

Many 4516 no dash owners report no issues at all with their guns and I believe them. But, there evidently were some problems with SOME 4516 no dash guns as S&W did some design changes.

The 4516-1 eliminated the step in the frame and beefed up the slide too. The step along the top of the slide was eliminated as well. Spurless hammer and trigger still flash chromed. Early versions had the rollmarks similar to the no dash but later production centered them on the slide and eliminated the "four line". The recoil spring was changed to a single unit. Magazines were modified with new followers and IIRC springs as well. The magazines were etched with an advisory "For use only in 4516-1".

Reportedly, there were still feed issues with SOME 4516-1's. Mostly well used examples in LE service were where problems were reported. Whether this was a design problem or user problem is up for debate, IMO. In any case, 4516-1 production dwindled and then stopped. I can't recall the year..........1992???