View Single Post

Old 04-24-2013, 07:57 AM

Liked 18,990 Times in 9,292 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cowgrl57 View Post
I am new to S&W... and I have a few questions if someone can help me, I have read with interest this thread and I would so appreciate input as things have changed in the past few years and it is now 2013... I just purchased my first gun in 30 years, a S&W 38 special CTG, for personal protection. There is stamped model 64 on one side, with the numbers 99577 and under this looks like an 18 and a sideways s, on the other. On the butt is stamped D525XXX,. It is stainless steel, tapered 4" barrel, seems to be well taken care of with a few nicks here and there, wood handles, square butt with inlaid S&W. Can anyone share what the estimated manufactured date is, the cost of buying one in today's market, and the best ammo for both target and self protection. I have researched alot, but would appreciate your wisdom. I just paid $425 and I am not sure if I got a good price or not, hoping I did. I have attached pictures. Also, I live in a county in CA where I can have ammo shipped to me, but have had no luck in finding any in stock or a manufacturer where they will ship into CA. Does anyone have any suggestions. Thanks Trish
Welcome! Your model 64 is likely from 1973, from the D prefix and number. The other stampings are factory internal codes of various kinds. It is one of the best choices you could have made for a defensive handgun for size/weight, ease of use and adequate power. You got it at a fair price in the current market.