View Single Post

Old 02-17-2017, 03:30 AM
US Veteran
Absent Comrade

Liked 16,154 Times in 7,408 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by SpectrePilot View Post
Hey KWill...I'm glad you stepped in with your wealth of knowledge. That document I posted is credit of KWill also.

I was issued a shoulder holster to carry my M56 concealed under my flight suit. It was an early nylon rig but I don't still have it or remember the make. When I moved into Spectre we had the Berettas and I don't know how much longer the airlift crews carried the M56.

Sent from my iPad using Tapatalk

Is Spectre the AC-130 gunship?

As an AF cop, I carried the Victory Model most, occasionally a .45 auto. The Combat Masterpiece was in short supply, and only officers and senior NCO's had them at my base in Denver. One officer carried his own K-38 then and another had a snub Colt .38 with hammer shroud.

No one seemed to care much about holsters, and I and another new guy just out of AP School were told to go downtown and buy holsters, as Supply was out of them. I wore mainly thumbsnap Threepersons styles from Bianchi and Safariland and a Jordan type made by a leather shop back home in Dallas, for the .45.

At a remote radar site in Newfoundland, we had only .45's, as the treaty said that Canada got all the gear when the USAF left. I swapped out some parts to get an all-Colt one, with wide hammer spur and all checkered surfaces that were grooved on later guns. We had a few Colts, but mainly Remington-Rands. No Ithacas. I was the only gun enthusiast in my unit at both bases. Relatively few USAF people seemed to be "into" guns. The exception was the Rod & Gun Club, where we had mainly hunters.