View Single Post

Old 07-18-2017, 04:09 PM

Liked 12,802 Times in 4,228 Posts

Eh, I'll play. Novel alert.

Pretty much from the beginning I carried my gun on my strong-side hip, going back to when I worked as an armed guard many years ago. That's how I always trained. Therefore, when I started carrying concealed a few years ago I decided to stay with strong side carry because I didn't want to find myself in desperate need of a gun and reflexively go to my right hip only to find my gun was in my pocket, for example.

After that it was experimentation. I tried both OWB and IWB, ultimately deciding that IWB worked much better for my needs. Positioning around 3:30-4:00 gave me the best balance between concealability, access, and comfort.

I also realized, after trying different holsters, that I needed an IWB holster with a reinforced mouth and much prefer minimal or no side shielding (the shield kept interfering with my thumb...worst case, I would trap the shield between my thumb and the slide, essentially locking the gun in the holster).

I also concluded that if I use an IWB holster with snap loops, they have to be one-way snaps. I had a holster that didn't use one-way snaps, and occasionally the act of holstering the gun would cause the snaps to come undone. That never happened with one-way snaps.

I've used the wide-body, VMII-style holsters, and while it does improve comfort and lowers the profile a bit, I've actually come to prefer more of a Summer Special-style, minimal profile holster. My current EDC holster is a Side Guard Quick Clip IWB holster with a reinforced mouth and a minimal profile. The offset clip, positioned behind the cylinder, keeps the profile low while pulling the gun butt into my body for better concealment.