View Single Post

Old 08-13-2017, 07:04 PM

Liked 11 Times in 1 Post
Default We pack the .38 because it works

To all you gun toters who think the 20th century was the Stone Age,.38 revolvers will get the job done for defense.

Beginning in 1973, I was a cop in Los Angeles County. Every fellow cop I knew carried a .38 special in either a Colt or S&W with a 4 or 6 inch barrel. I carried a Colt Trooper Mk III with a four-inch barrel in an old Bianchi border patrolman holster. Twelve spare rounds of ammunition were carried in dump pouches, as speed loaders hadn’t been approved as yet. After a night shoot in which the nose of the ammunition hung up, I bought a .357 magnum version of the dump pouches and kept my ammo in Bianchi speed strips. I positioned them so they opened on the top instead of dumping so all I had to do was pull up on the strip tab. On my paddle key ring was a key for the shotgun lock and a call box key.

I was newly married and making $960 a month. My take home pay was $333 every two weeks. There was little money left over at the end of the month so an off-duty gun was out of the question. I carried the old Colt everywhere on and off duty. Off duty it was carried in an old Safariland OWB, tan with thumb break-designed holster. I still have the Trooper and both holsters.

We shot monthly qualifications and were paid extra depending upon expertise. Maximum shooting pay was $16.00 a month. Shooting pay was paid in one lump sum the first pay period in December. The trigger on the old Trooper was nowhere as slick as on a S&W, but I practiced until I could quickly stage the trigger and touch it off at the last until I made Distinguished Expert pay. $192.00 was a lot of money in 1973 dollars.