View Single Post

Old 09-17-2017, 06:37 PM

Liked 21 Times in 17 Posts
Default Old thread on current topic

This seems to be an archetypical thread on a topic that keeps re-surfacing. Several comments caught my eye.

The household friend, 3-in-1 oil came and comes in several formulations; today's are pretty good household lubes. Without a doubt, the chemical makeup has been much improved over the years. The one for electric motors us actually a 20-weight engine oil. Detergent-free, it is excellent for air guns.

But I can recall several gunsmiths swearing at (not by) 3-in-1 in the 70s when I started shooting seriously. All had seen actions gummed up when the oil was applied and allowed to sit for several years. It turned to gum and varnish, and was h*ll to remove!

As for WD-40 . . . Well, they are your guns. Abuse them as you wish. I think the stuff is great for rinsing grit off of tools, bicycle chains, and guns. It will prevent rust under damp conditions for about 36 - 48-hours. But it is neither a good lube, cleaner, or longer-term rust preventative. You can find independent testing done on WD-40 and other products on the Brownells website. Really, the stuff isn't much more sophisticated than a sort of kerosene with a couple of additives. Google aroound, check the MSDS, and you'll see. Yes, I have a can at hand, but mainly to displace moisture and rinse away sand and other grit. (I did know one gunsmith who stored his many go-no-go chamber rifle gauges in tubes filled with WD-40, an inventive and apt use.)