Thread: No. 3 Target
View Single Post

Old 10-08-2017, 09:27 AM
SWCA Member
Absent Comrade

Liked 4,671 Times in 1,606 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by rct269 View Post
I'll agree with the term "variation". Beyond that, I'm inclined to disagree----but will certainly agree to disagree.

If by ".32 Winchester" you're referring to my 38-40 NM #3 Target, no I have not tried SWHF for anything on this gun---my understanding being they have nothing digitized for the time period. Yes? No?

My inclination to refer to the NM #3 Target (the series of guns introduced in the late 1880's) as such arises from the fact I've never seen/heard of it authoritatively referred to as anything else. And while it is a separate and distinct variation of the NM #3, it has only target sights---or so I'm told, and have never seen/heard different. That said, I have no knowledge of what the factory called it---and would be entirely agreeable to calling it as they did. In the meantime, you say tomato---and I'll say something else. And my teeth will continue to hurt everytime I see/hear of a NM #3 with target sights referred to as a NM #3 Target. It's kind of like chalk screeching on a blackboard.

Ralph Tremaine
so, you've been hearing these sounds like chalk screeching a blackboard for the past 90 years of your life or is this a recent or perhaps a "selective" thing ?