Thread: Pancho's Pistol
View Single Post

Old 02-26-2018, 09:10 AM
US Veteran

Liked 3,944 Times in 1,494 Posts

One of my first patients I was assigned to when I graduated from nursing school was an elderly black gentleman - a "Mr. Grover". Mr. Grover stood about my height (5'5"),but had the muscular physique of a much younger man. No one knew how old he was, and Mr. Grover said he "didn't have no papers cause he was born in the back of a wagon". He claimed to have been a blacksmith and mule skinner, and he also claimed to have been a Buffalo Soldier. Based on his physique, I had no doubts to his claims of having been a blacksmith. Oh, one other issue that Mr. Grover had was that he was suffering from dementia. If he decided he didn't care for your asking him to take a pill, or allow you to give him an insulin injection, well, let's just say that things could get real interesting. I found that by asking Mr. Grover about his past life, it would calm him down, and you wouldn't have to fight with him. Also, as a history buff, I found his stories fascinating.

One day, I asked Mr. Grover if he could remember any famous battles he had served in during his career in the military. I was surprised when he said he had served in the Pancho Villa "Punitive Expedition": Pancho Villa Expedition - Wikipedia

I was absolutely fascinated by this and asked Mr. Grover for more details such as his unit, his commanding officers, etc. Mr. Grover said his only recollection was that he was a Buffalo Soldier, and that was also his unit. Pressing for more information, I asked him what he was armed with. His answer was "a shovel". No, that couldn't be correct. He probably meant a 1903 Springfield rifle, or a 1911 Colt pistol in .45ACP, or maybe even a Krag Jorgenson rifle, or some other type of firearm in the U.S. Army inventory, but certainly not a shovel.