View Single Post

Old 05-22-2018, 03:24 PM

Liked 640 Times in 368 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by shep854 View Post
One more point that is VITAL for ethical, humane hunting: Understand your responsibility to the game to make a shot that will kill quickly and as painlessly as possible. That means passing up a shot if you have doubts about how effective it will be.
Reality being what it is, there will probably be misses and poor hits, but a true hunter strives to minimize them.
I know the OP said he wouldn't be using a .223 to hunt deer. This is the reason why. An accomplished shooter can bring down a deer with a .223 but someone new to shooting and hunting should choose a larger caliber. Personally I would not hunt with a .223 and I've been shooting for over 50 years.

The first thing a hunter should do is learn to shoot. Learning from an instructor is good but learning to shoot by thinking about what you're doing works too. Get a rifle, I'd start with a .22 because of the price of ammo, and learn to shoot it by the age old method we know as plinking. You will learn to shoot a lot of different ways plinking. Shoot moving targets (not live targets of course unless they're rats or something similar) and learn to shoot from different positions. I taught my kids to shoot using swinging targets. Side to side swinging targets that is. But a .22 target that swings back and forth can be useful too. It can teach you timing.

It takes a while. I learned by shooting at pop cans tossed into the air. If you know the trick you can hit them many times on one toss. Even better is to shoot clay pigeons with a shotgun. If you learn to do that you will be able to hit a running deer with a rifle.