Thread: Dogs again
View Single Post

Old 06-16-2018, 01:55 PM

Liked 9,313 Times in 3,723 Posts

At the age and physical condition described, screwing around with lesser responses is probably not smart.

Caveats: I'm not in Florida and have no idea what the legal environment would be like. I'm a lawyer (not yours), and get paid to fight stupid stuff. I am a (civil) prosecutor with a lot of criminal experience and still do criminal stuff for my office to help out. Among my assignments is Sheriff's counsel, so I deal with dog problem law. I also research, write, teach and litigate use of force. I am also the guy who helps out or does the work when harsh things need to be done to anyone with whom we are in conflict. I don't even remotely GAF about the feelings or well-being of people who need corrective action - if they lose everything they have and have a miserable existence, they have no one to blame but themselves. (Go to youtube and see what Conan said was best in life.) However, we have dogs (all of whom have been 60-140 pounds, one of whom was truly violent and dangerous to strangers), I much prefer dogs to people, and generally value them higher overall. While I am not interested in harming dogs, I have had to. Never shot one, but did a PR24 spin technique to one that was IN THE AIR leaping toward me, and pepper sprayed a few. Pepper spray is NOT a sure thing at all; don't rely on it.