View Single Post

Old 06-23-2018, 07:09 PM

Liked 177 Times in 91 Posts

Let me try to clarify a few things wrt LEOSA for the OP!

I just went thru my annual LEOSA qualification and am a Mass State Police Certified LEOSA Instructor for Mass, plus I'm an expert on Mass gun laws, so when I was told some questionable info, I did some research.

- Due to the NY Safe Act and subsequent lawsuit (plus LEOSA not addressing mag capacity), retirees are restricted to 10 rd mags maximum in NY State. As I was also told by a friend (ret'd Capt NYPD), no NY cop is going to jack another cop up unless said cop acts like a total a-hole (or gets involved in a shooting).

- NYC laws prohibit carrying a lock-blade knife and LEOSA isn't an exemption.

- As pointed out above, NJ lost the battle and retirees can carry hollow-point ammo under LEOSA. That said, NJ is the one state that even under LEOSA, one should be super-cautious as they regularly ignore federal laws.

- Mass has a provision in MGLs that exempts all LEOs, visitors as well retirees from carry restrictions. For retirees possession of new large capacity magazines "may" be exempt as well, the legal wording is a bit shaky and the (now) former attorney for the Firearms Record Board admitted to me that the wording is a bit gray. That said, you won't find any record of anyone under LEOSA getting jacked up in Mass again unless said officer was acting like a real a-hole.