View Single Post

Old 03-22-2020, 05:34 AM

Liked 4,735 Times in 1,517 Posts
Default Why not try an Air Pistol?

AKA: When life deals you lemons, make lemonade!

So, you’re low on ammo, powder, primers, etc. (or conserving it!), and/or you’re stuck at home.
You can keep up or improve your pistol shooting by getting a nice quality Air Pistol!

If things play out the way they are starting to look, we’ll all be making some changes in our day to day lives, at least for a while. Likely, you’ll be doing a lot more at home!

I have been seriously shooting airguns for almost 50 years. At one time, I was a coach and assistant with a competitive air pistol program. During that time, I owned, used, repaired and maintained pneumatic, CO2, spring powered, and compressed air pistols by all the major European makers from the past 50+ years.

Many shooters, especially Americans, don’t consider air guns to be “real shooting” irons. Certainly, if you’ve been exposed to budget quality examples there is a basis for this bias. But, off the radar of many shooters, there is, and has been for some time, a serious business about making, shooting, and competing with air guns at the very highest levels. They won’t help in a defensive capacity, but for most other uses you can find something appropriate.
If your bias runs deep enough, you might be hit with “sticker shock” for the top of the line air pistols. $1000 is about the entry level minimum for a competitive target grade air pistol. But, once you factor in all the related expenses, and amortize it over time, you realize what a bargain it is! First, the top level air pistols are engineered and built to amazing standards. You can expect to shoot hundreds of thousands of rounds with very little trouble or maintenance.
Then, there’s the cost to feed them.... Even the most expensive match grade pellets are a fraction of the cost of plinking grade 22lr ammo. And, you can bet the latter won’t be getting any cheaper for some time!