View Single Post

Old 12-29-2020, 03:18 PM

Liked 5,748 Times in 534 Posts

In Vietnam, it was awash with weapons. No body cared about us advisors, we were rarely visited by anybody. I gave an M3 .45 SMG to a Jesuit priest in a tiny village along the Cambodian border, he showed me his revolver, and I told him when they come to kill you, that will never work, so gave him my M3 and a sack of magazines. Decades later, I read a great obituary about him, he made it back and devoted his life to his faith.

I shot about 600 Kodachromes with my Pentax, and a few years ago, had about 80 professionally digitalized, they look as good as the day I shot them. But the above is the only one I have relating to a revolver, so the moderators would not appreciate any other pictures.

Indeed, in Desert Storm, the army was far more explicit, all I had was my issue .45. By then I was a physician, and another MD brought his Beretta 92, and our hospital commander made him turn it into our armory until we returned. I heard of other returning troops getting caught with AK's and such when they DROS'd back 'Stateside.

I was CO of A/1/5 for 18 months out of Bragg when I got back, was MACV and not SF "in-country."

All the best, and stay safe.... SF VET
The Following 83 Users Like Post: