View Single Post

Old 07-28-2021, 06:08 PM
US Veteran

Liked 4,159 Times in 1,308 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by airhunger View Post
Hey yall,

Newbie here, just got my first revolver, inherited from my 80-y/o Colorado game warden uncle, who inherited it from his (uncle? dad?) when he started working as a warden in the early 1960s.

I can't figure out what this gun is - help!

It's a S&W 38/357, and my uncle told me it was a highway patrol-issue unit, however, the S/N and the specs don't seem to line up?

I am pretty sure its a pre-HP (/FHP?) model 28 N-frame, serial # S 103214. From a different forum (1911 forum) I've found that to be a late 1954-early 1955 s/n, pre-HP? This serial # is stamped on the butt, the cylinder, and the body inside the cylinder area. (Sorry, I don't know all my gun terms!)

Also to confuse further, this gun has a 5" barrel, cylinder-to-muzzle. It does not say 'highway patrolman' or anything else on the gun, however, there is a second number stamped on the cylinder arm and on the frame that reads '23260'

Anybody know the scoop on these non-FHP, pre-HP 5" N-frames? Is it a model 28? What is this gun?

I know there's lots of chatter about pins and screws on these forums, but I don't know what screws or pins those reference.

Also, anyone have any clue what the value on this might be? This revolver doesn't really fit my needs (I'm a backcountry hunter and backpacking guide, and this is a bulky, heavy gun!) and I'm considering selling it at some point. The bluing is in exceptional condition, and it's been fired very little - maybe 200 rounds - since my uncle took ownership of it in 1961.

Pics attached, and in the album here: n-frame serial # S 103214 - Google Photos

Thanks! Help a newbie out!