Main Page
The Lounge
I just got an unsolicited e-mail from Fugate Firearms....|
Go
![]() |
New
![]() |
Find
![]() |
Notify
![]() |
Tools
![]() |
Reply
![]() |
|
Member![]() |
Are you saying that he is "buying" from himself? If so, that is "shill bidding" and should be reported to the auction manager. Dean SWCA #680 |
|||
|
Member![]() |
Dean, NO.
I point out that he buys using one identity. I looked thru his feedback and saw zero as a seller, all feedback was from folks he bought from. His other identity is the one he sells from. I did not look to see if he bids on his own sales. If he does, then you are right-on. Someone else can do that level of research. I may take a gander myself when I have the time? A third or more identities could provide an avenue to do shill bids, however? Most of his sales are "reserve" auctions. I guess a detective could look thru completed auctions that actually "sold" (reserve met), and see if there is some common name in a bunch of them that bids, but never "wins"? That would seem ODD? Another peculiar thing, would be the name of a perennial 'winner' repeatedly, only to later find the gun re-listed after it supposedly 'sold' ...listed by original seller? It can get quite complex...Duh.buyer backed-out,etc. Still interesting. John OGCA Member SWCA Member My other Smith is a Smith-Corona How'd I get over-the-hill and never reached the top? |
|||
|
Member![]() |
Hmmmmmm. I don't surf a lot on GB, but it seems to me the community police at GB might be interested in knowing that 2 brothers in business together use 1 ID to sell with, and another 1 to buy with. Not exactly on the upside of honesty, is it?
|
|||
|
Member![]() |
$395 for a Model 58
88209761 Have fun shopping, Dixie, but watch out--it can be hazardous to your bank account |
|||
|
Member![]() |
XXXXXXXXXXXX Not taking any credit for this, but I wonder if my polite little email asking him to be a "big boy" and issue a public apology had anything to do with it. One can only hope........ SC |
|||
|
|
Member |
Fugate is only asking for mercy because he sees his pocket book getting lighter as a result of his pattern of unethical conduct.
|
|||
|
|
Member |
Here is the 648 Fugate bought as lastbidder (see the first link in my previous post above) for $500 and here is what he sold it for as Fugate Firearms:
http://www.forthehunt.com/Auction/ViewItem.asp?Item=88338370 A nice tiddy little $250 profit. He would love to get your guns at low ball prices and resell them for a lot more! |
|||
|
Member![]() |
XXXXXXXXXXXXXXXXX I used to buy old brood sows and brood boars at the local "sale barn". I bought them to breed with my "russian stock" and then put the shoats in the woods. Seemed like almost every time I would bid on a 1000 pound old brood boar an "employee" of the sale barn would bump me. Hell fire, on 2 occasions I had to pay 3.5 cents per pound for an old boar hog. SC |
|||
|
|
Member |
----------------------------------------------Geoff, I agree that it's not on "the upside of honesty" , but I doubt that the powers-that-be on GUNBROKER give a rats behind. All the buying and selling activity feathers their pockets. And what he's doing is not against their rules. Just the same we all need to be aware of who we may be dealing with on any of the auction sites. JMO. Don ----------------------------------------------------------- Integrity : doing whats right when no one else will know. <>< |
|||
|
|
Member |
Dixie, also give Gunsamerica.com a try. It's not an auction sight. The seller posts a price and you buy it if you like it. I bought a rifle from there and I e-mailed the guy and offered $50 less than he was asking and he accepted. So there is some room to haggle.
|
|||
|
|
Member |
And just for the record, Gunsamerica sales are OK for posting here. Its the auction links that were prohibited. That as a result of some mostly now banned members crying about it. They felt that any auction they found was their property. Any mention to others was unwanted. Most of us enjoy those links, and in the past I got a fair number of email links. I guess that's dried up now.
I really don't like it that members here have started removing their email address. Sometimes its very convenient to just click on the people for a private message. If I were God, I'd require both the email and the state of residence. Of course that would just make the scumbags have an easier time bothering us. Dick Burg Its quantity, not quality |
|||
|
|
Member |
Fugate also haunts Auction Arms under the name of lastbidderone.
|
|||
|
Member![]() |
I agree. In the 4 1/2 or so years that I've been a member here this is the only occasion that I can recall any type of a spam problem or other misuse of members' publically listed email addresses. I enjoy corresponding with the vast majority of great people here, and I won't let this one instance, or this one jackass, influence me to hide my email address from the forum membership. So my email will continue to be listed in my public profile Bill NRA Life Member S&WCA #1737 |
|||
|
|
Member |
Para, it's your Forum to do with as you wish, of course, but I am reminded of something that my old Platoon Sergeant used to say. "If you're looking for sympathy, you better look between sh*t and syphillis in the dictionary, 'cause you ain't getting any here!"" _________________________ Pray for peace, but keep your powder dry. "My beloved America, thank you for your children. If your children want to become soldiers I will train them. When they are hungry I will feed them. When they are thirsty I will give them water. When they fight for freedom I will lead them. When they are unsteady on the battlefield I will motivate them. If they die on the battlefield I will bury them. So help me God." |
|||
|
| Previous Topic | Next Topic | powered by eve community | Page 1 ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 ... 50 |
| Please Wait. Your request is being processed... |
|
Main Page
The Lounge
I just got an unsolicited e-mail from Fugate Firearms....
