Smith & Wesson Forum

Advertise With Us Search
Go Back   Smith & Wesson Forum > Smith & Wesson Rifles and Shotguns > Smith & Wesson M&P 15-22

Notices

Smith & Wesson M&P 15-22 Dedicated to the Smith & Wesson M&P 15-22

Old 04-16-2014, 01:07 PM
Ammo help Ammo help Ammo help Ammo help Ammo help  
Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts
Default Ammo help

I purchased my first 15-22 last week. I went to the range yesterday to try it out and get a feel for it. Being it is my firs ever rifle I have no experience with ammo for it. I jus asked for .22lr ammo and was given Remington target shooting standard velocity ammo. All was fine while shooting, in fact it was better than I thought it would. When I got home however and started cleaning it, well that's another story. I purchased a .22 rifle cleaner with the weight and brushes. (Forgive my lack of terminology, I'm new to the whole rifle thing). I was unable to pass the weight through the barrel. After visualizing the barrel it appeared as if it may have been defective kind of offset. After numerous attempts I finally cut the weight off and passed the leader through. After about a half hour of repeated passes, I was able to get it about 99% clean to where there seems to be a little bit of powder residue left. I plan on cleaning it again before I shoot it again.
Is this common with the 22-15 or is it just a lower quality ammo and can this be avoided? Any feed back would be appreciated.
Old 04-16-2014, 01:20 PM
Liked 480 Times in 275 Posts

Did you run patches with cleaner on it and a brush before using the bore snake. I assume that's what you were referring to about the weight thing. If not, try that first. The bore snake Will go through the barrel much better after you do those steps first.

Last edited by AR-Getsome; 04-16-2014 at 01:23 PM.
Old 04-16-2014, 01:32 PM
Liked 42 Times in 22 Posts