View Single Post

Old 06-20-2011, 01:03 AM

Liked 22 Times in 12 Posts

I read this entire thread thoroughly, especially Larry's general comment about just dumping .45 LC, above. Sounds good to me. Reason? I've been reloading for over 50 years, and have close to 40 die sets now. Of all those, my most frustrating experiences, greatest long running failure in general, is with .45 LC. I've been meaning to run up the distress flag and ask if anybody on this forum has a lead bullet load which will give half way decent accuracy. I'm about ready to give up. But here is the .45 LC brain trust.

I've gone to a lot of trouble to build up an "N" frame equivalent of the Model 25, with an LPA rear which I installed, barrel I fitted and gapped to .002", high front sight I hand made and fitted into a 1/8" groove I milled...on and on it goes. Never can I get down to 2" 50 foot groups...always flyers and erratic baloney, just when I think I'm almost there.

The cases are too thin in general, and capacity is too great. Bullseye, Unique, 2400, 231...nothing gives really good results. 175 gr., 185 gr., 255 gr. lead bullets, my own and commercial...nothing is much good.

In 1994 I special ordered from Colt's shop a nickel SAA in .45 LC with 4.75" bbl. This was to be my perfect fun gun. They did a bad job of finishing it, and it was grossly inaccurate, so back it went to Colt. They worked on the nickel, improved it, and sent it back with a beautiful test target...almost a single hole...fired with Magtech cowboy action ammo. Nobody would tell me what the load was, and I could never duplicate it. Nor could I even find the ammo for sale, so I could break it down and have a look.

I've tried sizing the bullets to .450, .451, .452, and I even made my own sizing die for .454". Last diameter sound ridiculous? Winchester Silvertips gave me phenomenal accuracy, just what I wanted, and I measured their bullets at .454. But I could find no load to make those bullets work like Winchester did.