View Single Post

Old 07-30-2011, 06:46 AM
US Veteran
SWCA Member
Absent Comrade

Liked 39 Times in 26 Posts
Smile My 2 Cents

I have been reloading since 1962, using mostly RCBS presses.

I started with the "Junior", then the "Rockchucker", then the A2, A3, and A4("Big Max"). The big winner turned out to be the Rockchucker. That was the best value among them, which is the only one of that group that is still in production. The A2 was the heavyweight, useful also for case forming and swaging, but was replaced by the A3. The A3 had the shortest life, and was replaced by the Big Max (A4). The A4 was a giant, but had design flaws and some weird annoying features.

In my opinion, the 2 best quality ones were the original Rockchucker and the A2. The later Rockchuckers are not as well made as the early ones. The older ones can be identified by the dull green powder rough surface coating. Later ones have the shiny green paint. If you can get one in very good used condition, GRAB IT! Then clean it up like new, and check the fittings. It will last forever.

Start out with single stage reloading on a Rockchucker, and learn SAFETY, checking powder charges visually. Don't watch TV or chat while reloading, for the same reason not to drive a car and use a cell phone at the same time.

Later on, use an inexpensive Lee turret press for faster pistol reloading. A Rockchucker and Lee turret are a good combination to have.

Dillon presses are expensive, and only necessary for shooters that are engaged in very high volume shooting in a few calibers. However, Dillon itself is fantastically great in backing up their products and customers.