View Single Post

Old 01-10-2013, 11:01 AM

Liked 132 Times in 54 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by zachnelson View Post
So I'm new to marksmanship, and the folks both at the range (sometimes) and on reddit's /r/guns aren't very helpful to newbies it seems.

I've had my 15-22 for a month or so now, and shot ~975 rounds through it. I've bought a Primary Arms Red Dot and a Primary Arms Green Laser as well as miscellaneous things.

My range goes out to 25 yards, not far, but I work with what I have. I have some questions/observations/comments I'd like to see addressed if I could ask for the assistance.

1. I have the red dot sighted in at 50 feet (read: feet not yards), and my shots are roughly 90% on target. However my groupings are 1-2 inches or even sometimes more at 50 feet. Why is this? I have a few hypothesis: One, I'm not exactly very strong or muscularly built so no matter where I hold the rifle I have a lot of sway, and my arms get tired after a while of holding the barrel up. Two, shooting at the range makes me nervous, of which I assume will soon subside. Three, I'm doing something wrong stance wise or something else wrong wich is effecting my shot placement. Four, good marksmanship, even at 50 feet, takes a lot of time to master and I should just keep working at it.

2. When I shoot at a target 75 feet away, my shots are an inch low but still maintain the above 1-2 inch grouping. When I shoot at a target 35 feet away, my shots are an inch high but also still maintain the grouping. Why is this such a dramatic difference with such short distances?

3. I'm not sure how to zero my green laser. Should I see the laser right next to or on top of my red dot when I look through my sight? Or something else?