View Single Post

Old 03-10-2013, 06:50 AM

Liked 6,257 Times in 2,328 Posts

Boresnakes for cleaning? I very much like them. I have been using various caliber Boresnakes since at least 1996 in everything from revolvers, pistols, rifles and shotguns. In my experience they are very effective.

When it comes to a .22 LR rifle, I very rarely clean the bore. I have found that I get more consistent results on target by establishing a bore condition and maintaining it. I brush/clean/wipe out the mechanism of the rifle and remove any bits of debris. I do the same for the bolt face, etc. I do not routinely dismantle the action unless it has gotten particularly nasty.

I shoot my S&W 18-3 a lot. Because of the nature of the design of a revolver, I find a more detailed routine cleaning is necessary, depending on the brand of ammunition being used. Some brands leave a good bit of soot, etc. requiring that the cylinder be brushed out approximately every 50-100 rounds. Other brands all one to keep shooting with no difficulties chambering or extracting up to say 350 rounds. For cleaning at home I will wipe out the bore w/ a damp patch using CLP. I'll of course clean the rest of the revolver in the normal manner.

For semi-automatic .22 LR pistols, I do a similar cleaning routine. At present I have only one such pistol, a Marvel .22 LR conversion unit for my 1911. I leave the barrel alone. Everything else gets wiped down to remove soot, grease and other firing residue. Then it is lightly oiled and stored.