View Single Post

Old 09-30-2017, 03:09 PM
SWCA Member

Liked 968 Times in 219 Posts

Gary

I started shooting Black Powder in 1968 with my first C&B revolver, so I am certainly not 'wet behind the ears'. In those days I would clean with hot soapy water, just like everybody else. I would tear the gun completely apart, clean off everything with hot soapy water, real hot so the metal would dry because it was so hot. Sometimes I would put the parts in an oven to make them dry faster. Sorry, I don't remember what temperature, it was a long time ago. Not very much hotter than the temperature water boils at, probably. I was always annoyed because the hot metal would always promote 'flash rust', the powdery orange dust on the surface.

Flash forward to about the year 2000 when I got into CAS. I avoided shooting Black Powder because of my memories of the pain that cleaning up afterwards was. That's when I discovered Murphy's Mix and Ballistol, and have been using that regimen ever since. Another advantage is you don't have to heat MMix, room temperature works fine. I usually clean my rifle at my car before I go home, because I don't have to heat the MMix. When I get home I clean the revolvers and the shotgun.

Another thing I have learned over the years is that since we no longer use corrosive primers, BP fouling is not as corrosive as most believe. I seldom clean my Colts the same day I shoot them, I am tired after being on the range all day and then driving home. I have found that waiting a few days does not hurt one bit, and once clean there is never any corrosion.

One thing about cleaning up cartridge revolvers is it is easier than cleaning a C&B revolver. There are no nicks and crannies in the chambers to harbor fouling or crud. No nipples or nipple threads that need to be cleaned. A couple of swipes with a conventional bore brush and whatever your favorite BP solvent is, cleans the chambers in one fell swoop.