View Single Post

Old 03-26-2018, 04:38 PM

Liked 6,628 Times in 2,203 Posts

My primary 12GA shotgun in my safe is a standard 870 Express (which has been carefully examined by a Remington shotgun armorer, as my armorer class wasn't as current).

It's demonstrated itself to run just fine in my range sessions. I replaced the original vent-rib/choked barrel with an 18" cylinder-bore barrel, and I replaced that bulky commercial woooden forend with a short LE-type plastic one. I'd reach for it before I'd reach for my Winchester 1200, even though the 1200 has a 6-shot factory extended mag tube. Why? Because I've got a lot of training & range time using 870's.

In my last several years before retirement my plainclothes car carried one of our older standard 870's, with the 4-shot mag tube. I didn't try to replace it with one of our 18"/6-shot LE 870's, even though as a firearms instructor I could've pulled some strings. Why? Because I'd inspected and puffed that older one out during an 870 armorer class, and it performed flawlessly in range sessions. I had it refitted with some nicely refinished older wood, too, including the short forend. I didn't see myself being at any particular disadvantage with its older era standard 4-shot tube. I could easily chamber a round and top off the mag tube to give me 5 rounds of buck or slugs.

Personally, I also tend to dislike the extended mag tubes for making it more difficult (or at least less easy) to remove the barrel.

I remember owning a Mossberg 500 Cruiser many years ago, as a younger man, with its 8-shot mag tube. That slightly longer barrel (to accommodate the 8-shot tube) seemed just a bit too long, at times.

Modern ammo development has given us a nice selection of 12GA loads, including those which might be better suited to various environments (including considering down-range).