View Single Post

Old 06-27-2018, 08:09 PM

Liked 640 Times in 368 Posts

I've been surfing gun boards of all types for at least 10 years, I grew up with guns - mostly shotguns but also .22's, I've shot a lot of things over the years and I have been around other shooting scenes.

First I have shot MULTIPLE animals with birdshot that did NOT die. I shot my neighbors chickens because when I asked my neighbor about keeping them out of my garden he said shoot them so I did. I shot at least 7-8 chickens with 20 ga. birdshot. Most of them didn't even notice it. Chickens. I also shot a rabid fox twice with that same ammo. It didn't flinch. Bird shot is NOT good for defense against humans no matter the gauge of the shotgun. Buckshot is devastating to humans. Birdshot may make a wound that looks awful but not penetrate the chest cavity at all. If it won't kill a chicken I ain't using it for defense.

I haven't investigated crime scenes but I know of one where a guy I knew shot up a trailer with 7.62 X 39 ammo from an SKS. It penetrated both sides of the trailer and an interior closet where it killed his intended target. Some ammo is made to penetrate.

Personally I much prefer .45 ACP to 9mm. You get about the same penetration but you get considerably more transferred energy with a .45. I've heard all the arguments about modern 9mm bullets. The thing is those same principles are used in modern .45 caliber bullets.