View Single Post

Old 09-26-2018, 11:05 AM

Liked 0 Times in 0 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wise_A View Post
Try actual bullseye pistol. You have the gun for it--the heavy barrel 41, presuming it's tapped for optics. The field barrel or the Woodsman would be better for steel, you want less mass up front. And you already have the ammo. Not giving indoor BE a shot would be a crime.

10-ring on a 50-foot slow fire target is .9", btw, just a little bit smaller than a quarter. You can hit it, so long as you don't try to hit it.
Here is a typical target I have been shooting for the past three years. It was shot on Nov 24th 2017 with my full sized Wilson Combat 45acp Supergrade. Same thing every week, I would shoot at least four targets like this each Saturday morning. Top three targets (above each shoulder and the head) at ten yards and the torso at 15 yards. This using a two handed grip, one shot every two or three seconds when shooting at 15 yards. Slow and steady was all I did until 14 months ago. I had no idea what 'tactical' shooting was until, after much prodding from the range officers, I went to my first plate match.

Having never been to a 22 caliber bullseye match, I would suspect that shooting is done one handed. My heavy barrel will be drilled and tapped for optics, I may go whole hog and replace certain small parts with top end volquartsen items (extractors, or whatever others are doing). Unless someone tells me the small parts on the Model 41 are the best design possible for the platform. That's the point of me joining this forum. So that you guys make sure I don't do something stupid to these classic Model 41's. I understand that both could be considered collectable, people on other forums told me to not shoot the 1938 woodsman match target for instance. Or modify these Model 41's because in doing so, I would destroy their value in as collectors items. So maybe the field barrel will remain un-modified.