View Single Post

Old 01-29-2020, 04:56 PM

Liked 10 Times in 6 Posts
Default MODEL 28-2 NEED HELP!!!!

Good afternoon,

I would greatly appreciate any help you guys may be able to provide me. As you may notice, I am new to this forum. I am also quite new to S&W revolvers. Last week I purchased my first Model 28-2 at a local gun show. This isn't my first S&W revolver (I have a 329PD), however it is the oldest one I have purchased or owned. I purchased it from a very nice gentleman who had it advertised at his table for $800. After some back and forth we agreed upon $650 cash. Prior to the purchase I looked the weapon over as thorough as possible. I noted that the serial number on the frame behind the yoke had been defaced and appeared to be re-blued. I also noted that the assembly numbers on the yoke itself had appeared to be re-blued to the point they are partially obscured. At the time I wasn't too concerned with these issues because the rest of the weapon appeared to be in great condition and I asked the gentleman to remove the target stocks so I could see the serial number on the butt of the revolver. After seeing the serial number on the butt I went ahead with the purchase, completed a 4473, exchanged the cash, and made my way home.