View Single Post

Old 03-17-2022, 09:42 PM

Liked 700 Times in 193 Posts

Lots of good information in this thread. Now that I'm retired, I can offer some comments...

I was a firearms instructor at the time the 1076 rollout in the field offices began in earnest after 1991. New Agents at Quantico began receiving them first. The NYO - largest field office and at the bottom of the list to receive anything new - didn't get 1076s for issue until 1992. The transition school from revolver to 1076 for Agents started at 5 days, and was soon reduced to 4 days. They shot a lot of rounds during that week, well over 1000 rounds per gun. The 1076 was reliable, and with the issue 180/950 load, not difficult to shoot, and grouped well.

Having said that, it wasn't without its detractors. For starters, it was far heavier and bulkier to carry than the issue S&W 10-5 or 13-3. Considering the majority of agents worked in business attire, and investigating white collar crime and counter-intelligence, the added size and weight were not appreciated with that sector.

The POI of the issue guns was lower than what was common with the prior issue revolvers or pistols (S&W 10-5, 13-3, 459, SIG P226). The 1076 was zero @ 25yards using a center hold, with half the rounds above and below the POA. Most Agents could not tell the difference on the Q target, but many instructors - required to shoot the Bullseye Course for qualification - did not like this. They sent their guns back to the Quantico Gun Vault for sight adjustment, to be told that the guns were zero. Personally, I don't like rounds impacting below my line of sight at distance.

The magazines had some issues with the top round sliding out when carried in the issue magazine pouch - you would draw the 9rd magazine for a reload and there would be 8 rounds in the mag, and a single round laying in the bottom of the magazine pouch. There was at least one magazine modification by S&W to try and prevent this.