View Single Post

Old 04-04-2022, 11:52 AM

Liked 246 Times in 108 Posts

This was an interesting thread to read through from start to finish. Some of it filled with facts and some speculation. I worked in law enforcement for 30 years and the FBI was always held in high regard in firearm selection by many agencies. They had the time, inclination and money to really get into selecting hand guns and ammunition for their agents. My agency did not have the resources for that type of selection process, but we did try to glean whatever we could from the FBI and other department studies. Unfortunately my agency usually took the cheap way out on firearms, but not so much on ammunition.

I came into law enforcement at an interesting albeit frustrating time. The days of big tough ex-military type applicants was fading away and giving way to smaller less physically strong applicants who had absolutely no experience with firearms and were quite literally afraid of them. To them a firearm was just something they had to accommodate themselves with and get a passing score on the qualification test. Once that was done then they could move onto whatever the next hurdle was.

Early on we carried a 4 inch S&W Model 66's loaded with 158 grain full power loads made by Remington. It was a handful for the uninitiated and caused many problems for new shooters. We tried to break them in by only shooting 148 grain wadcutters in their first week on the range, but the second week they started shooting the "combat" courses with duty ammunition. By the end of the second week the recruits had to shoot a qualifying score with duty ammunition or they were removed from training.