View Single Post

Old 04-12-2024, 10:48 PM

Liked 3,282 Times in 911 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by cmansguns View Post
Hello Don,
I am not a Luger expert by any means but back around 2003 there was a lot if interest in serial numbers for the so-called "Black Widow" Lugers. The first thing to realize is that the term "Black Widow" was the marketing invention of a man in Arizona who sold Lugers. Ralph Shatuck was the man and the dang term stuck over the years, mostly by USA Collectors. Even renowned auction houses like Simpson Ltd began to "use it" in thier adds, and still do.

Most serious Luger collectors of days gone by (20-30 years ago) disdained the cheap looking black plastic grips, much like we S&W and Colt collectors disdain the Franzite grips.

But the rumors of only issuing the Black Widow Lugers to the SS are still around today.....all debunked as untrue marketing ploys (unfortunately that worked on unsuspecting new buyers)!

Mauser Werks was given the wartime code of byf and their production was approx. 10,000 per month in 1940,41 and into 42. The block letters (lower case font) indicated not exactly a particular month, but more a "block" of 10000. Mauser produced approx 10,000 Lugers in January 1941, however the black plastic (bakelite) wasn't approved until June of 1941 and even the experts cannot agree to exactly what serial numbers and blocks would have contained only the black grips and magazines.

The most informative book on these (and other wartime Lugers) is Jan C. Still book Third Reich Lugers. I sold mine years ago, but maybe you can still find it on the Amazing site.