View Single Post

Old 04-18-2024, 05:08 PM

Liked 7,008 Times in 2,381 Posts

Quote:
Originally Posted by sophie View Post
Kinman, I agree with most everything you have said, except the remark about Snap-On Tools line of Blue Point Tools being made in Taiwan. I don’t know your age or background but I spent 47 years working on cars and trucks, starting in 1957. I quit finally in 2007 and still work on my vehicles and a friends vehicle once in a while. When I graduated high school in 1959 my Mom and Dad bought me a nice Snap-on Tool Box (4 drawer, top tray) full of Snap-on tools and some Blue Point tools, box ends, combination, open ends, sockets, both 1/2” drive and 3/8” drive and screwdrivers and Pliars and crescents, and ratchets. Over 50 or so years I purchased mostly Snap-On tools but also Mac, Matco, Craftsman, and many more. I agree that we don’t make anything in the USA like we used to and it’s a shame.

Snap-On’s line of Blue Point Tools were never made in China to my knowledge. Unless something has changed the Blue Point line was made in the USA. I’ve posted 2 pictures of Blue Point open end wrenches with USA shown on the reverse side. I know you remember when Snap-On dated they’re tools from year to year with numbers, then alpha prefix and I don’t know how they’re dating system works now. Notice the number 9 shown on the back side of the wrenches. These Blue Point open end wrenches are from my original set manufactured in 1959.